Poets logo

After Pride

An Acrostic Poem

By Natasja RosePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2022
25

After Pride Month is over

Fear and prejudice does not abate

There are still battles to be fought

Everyday, at home, at work, at school and social

Remember, we are still here

By Cecilie Johnsen on Unsplash

There are those who are lucky in their family and friends

Horror stories from those who are not so fortunate

Everyone deserves to be safe, all year round

By Sara Rampazzo on Unsplash

Perhaps one day, Pride will no longer be needed.

All will be free to be, whatever form that takes.

Remember that we don't vanish because Pride Month is over

Another day, month, year; we are still here and Queer

Discrimination occurs, but there is no social clout in seeing it

Everyday, I am still here.

The challenge asked us to consider what happens and who we are in the eleven months when corperations don't weild a rainbow logo like it excuses their hiring and HR policies the rest of the year.

I don't stop being who I am just because the rest of the world stopped paying attention. I don't stop facing prejudice, jeers and hateful remarks. I don't get to stop being a queer, disabled woman when Pride Month is over.

If you enjoyed this story, leave a heart, a tip or a comment, and check out my other works, either published at the link above, here on Vocal, or on Medium.

social commentary
25

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    I think your poem relates to so many people. These acknowledgement months were started with good intentions, but then what about the rest of the year. Great job to state with clarity what needed to be said. Hearted

  • Clever take on the challenge

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Beautiful!!! Love this!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I loved the Acrostic! What a fantastic poem!!

  • HeyItsPhephen2 years ago

    Thank you for sharing a little about who you are and your experience.

  • Call Me Les2 years ago

    Well said! I like this acrostic idea. It might be a way a non poet like me csn try out the challenge too!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Well said.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.