Poets logo

Adulthood at its finest

By: Just Nicole

By JUST NICOLEPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
Like
Picture from pinterest

What does it mean to be an adult?

What does it cost me to be an adult?

What is fun as an adult?

Does being adult means maturity?

It is scary and joyful at the same time.

The amount of problems and bills piling up is unimaginable.

I thought I know what to do after graduation, but no.

Everything I planned is not working out.

I'm still anxious to order alone at any fastfood.

But that's not it.

Parents starts sharing family problems and conflicts with you.

And the most fun and crazy is you get to gossip with your aunties and know the secrets of your neighbors.

I perfected my scripted shocked face.

Here is the worst part.

No one prepares me for the lonliness I feel.

Most of my friends already has a husband, boyfriend, or a baby.

It's frustrating to think that I'm out of place when I'm with them because I don't have anyone but my two little dogs.

Don't get me wrong I like being single.

It's just I'm not yet prepared to be in a relationship.

I still have so much to do and to prove.

Is it selfish to think that maybe I get a boyfriend so I wouldn't feel like I'm being pushed.

Here's what I learned.

I don't need rush learning everything.

I don't to face everything at once.

I don't need to figure out everything myself.

I don't need to buy an apartment this instant.

Being an adult is a slow learning process of growing and no need for a rush because life should be in a slow pace.

Here's what I love being adult.

Adulthood is freedom,

doing everthing on own is a different kind of pleasure and achievement.

I didn't know purchasing kitchen utensils and table wares is fun.

I did not expect I'd choose to sleep than going to the mall or bar.

Adulthood is fun, problematic, crazy, but peaceful.

Here's my advise.

Don't take everything seriously, have fun.

Don't overthink, just go with the flow.

If you ever feel lonely, find something that can make you happy.

A lot of crying is going to happen so better prepare a ton of tissue.

Do everything in your own pace, take it slow.

Don't be shy to ask for help and guidance.

Celebrate every achievement big or small.

And the most important thing,

make your bed nice and cozy because life is hard and crazy you need to have good sleep.

slam poetrysad poetrylove poemsinspirational
Like

About the Creator

JUST NICOLE

I love writing poems, news article, fiction novels.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.