Poets logo

Adieu...

She's gone & I've arrived

By Mesaye Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Adieu...
Photo by Quino Al on Unsplash

You thought what you did hurt me?

Back then? Yeah, but now I'm free

I knew I was taking a chance opening up to you for a bit of romance

Your savagery ways created my rainy days

Filled with so much hope in my visions

Had me out here making foolish decisions

Wishing my third eye was primed like a prism

To show me all the fuckery

You went from decreasing your time to ducking me

Down to only weekend fucking me

Damn I must've been a sucker see

To rely on your breadcrumbing me

To believe that you loved me

To allow you to govern me

Back then I didn't know myself

I had to go through some things to inherit this wealth

You were just par for the course

I'm not interested in your rem0rse

Thoughts & memories of you are divorced

From my mental, the old me that didn't know the new me

Who I am now has been influential in clearing up generational curses

Aligning herself in grounded purposes

Focusing & tending to her inner child

Healing & revealing her true self

Loving & promoting self-care

Choosing peace over chaos

She's wearing this like an albatross

Yeah, so what you did to me hurt me through and through

But I woke one day saying F it and then I knew

The old me was done with you and the new me, well she's not even on your avenue

We both bid you adieu.

love poems

About the Creator

Mesaye

From the moment I read my first Edgar Allen Poe story when I was 12 yrs old, I knew what made my heart flutter & what drove my imagination. Writing has been something I’ve loved doing, fell far away from & am now drawn back to it!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mesaye Written by Mesaye

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.