Poets logo

Adamah

Born of clay

By Guido QPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2
Adamah
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I killed. I slaughtered.

I turned on the gas

tap. I ordered

the carpet bombing.

I packed explosives

into the suitcase abandoned

on a bench in the station.

I loaded live matter

by the ton onto a barge.

I signed the eye

for an eye. I bet

on the subprime crisis

bursting. I paid

the company to keep mum

about the cement mix.

I struck the match by

the canister in bone-dry woods.

I dodged the controls.

I falsified clinical tests.

I brought the knife down

on my wife and children.

I replayed the video

and I laughed. I slid

my hands under clothes.

I invented genocide.

I beat a child.

Scratch my back

and I’ll scratch yours.

I knocked over the pot of geraniums.

I pissed on the doormat.

I jumped the turnstiles.

I spat on the plate

you were eating from. I cut you off

at the junction.

I poisoned the cat’s food.

I parked straddling the line.

I poked my fingers

in my nose. I eyed you up

On the bus and followed you.

 

My collective

conscience is clean.

 

(Translated from Italian by Patrick Williamson)

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Guido Q

I am going to be born in a few years from now.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Nooooo, not the cat's food!!! 😭😭😭😭😭

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.