Poets logo

acting prose

dribbles from October

By Emma AndersonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
acting prose
Photo by Alberto Bigoni on Unsplash

I don’t know if this is actually what I wanted

Its hard to say what I want

I got a fucking degree in acting and all they kept asking me was

What do you want

what do you want

And I would always be like

I don’t fucking know

Do people generally want? Do people got about their lives identifying their wants?

I want very simple things - I want to go to bed, I want to get a mcchicken from McDonalds, I want to be a world famous actress, I want to find a boy that will take it slow with me, I want to dance in my room and be silly because it makes me feel alive, I want to be the next Meryl Streep.

These are all very normal wants, aren’t they?

But in acting school they were never good enough, never specific enough, even if they made sense to me they didn’t make sense to them.

So I thought it was better not to want.

I thought it was better to be clay and be sculpted

I thought it was better to be a blank canvas and let someone else mix the colors

I thought I thought I thought

What about actions? What are you doing?

What do you want them to say or do OR how do you want them to change

If I had a fucking nickel…

Now I’m out of school and sometimes I don’t know if I want at all

Maybe its a gen z thing (i thought I was a millennial for such a long time)

Maybe its a

I didn’t complete that thought

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emma Anderson

Alexa play Unwritten by Natasha Bedingfield

emmalanderson.com

@nobodyputsemmainacorner

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.