Poets logo

ACROSS THE ROOM

take my hand

By Margaret BrennanPublished 10 months ago 1 min read

ACROSS THE ROOM

take my hand

\\//\\//\\//

Across the room,

I see you.

Just you, alone,

Alone, and yet trying.

Trying desperately,

Desperately to fit in.

//\\//\\//\\

I long to reach out –

Reach out to touch –

Touch your face,

Face to face,

To hold your hand,

Hand in hand.

//\\//\\///

Eye to eye,

Eyes meet. I feel,

Oh how I feel the want,

The want of your lips,

Lips to touch mine,

Mine alone.

//\\//\\//\\

I want your heart

Yes, your heart,

Your heart to capture,

Yes, to capture your heart –

As you did mine,

Only mine, from

Across the room.

love poems

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Joelle E🌙10 months ago

    Sweet❤️❤️ and profound

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Great poem!

Margaret BrennanWritten by Margaret Brennan

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.