Poets logo

Accidentally

For Heather's 'Unscramble Challenge'

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a month ago 1 min read
16
Accidentally
Photo by Jelleke Vanooteghem on Unsplash

The cyanide tipped into the sweet tea

an accident that no-one saw coming

His victim was quite fragile and dainty

The culprit, evil and cunning

In the candlelit room, time was idle

yet the clock still continued to chime

The perfect setting for one, homicidal

pure delicacy for committing a crime

The detective led them to the study

to detain and observe every detail

His accent was garbled and muddy

he acted as dense as a doornail

Can any of you give an alibi?

at any time can you verify your whereabouts

Someone here, wanted someone to die

And I am here to figure it out

I will be compiling a tally

and I don't expect that I will be gentle

We've entered the realm of Death Valley

and I'll pull some teeth, if I need to get dental

I'm collecting your phones to see who you dial

In a few moments I will make a dent

The evidence is all over the tile

vaguely resembling naughty cat prints

It has finally become crystal clear

the culprit I am planning to collar

Has a smile as fake as veneer

it's the cat, known as smokin' revolver

humorFor Funfact or fiction
16

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes30 days ago

    Lol. That was wonderful. Well done.

  • Caroline Cravenabout a month ago

    So clever! And what a great tale (tail) too!

  • Catch him quick before he disappears into Cheshire! Marvelously well done, Kelli. Now I'm embarrassed over mine.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Hahahahhahahaha that was unexpected! Loved how you executed this challenge!

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fab u lous!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Jay Kantorabout a month ago

    Dear Ki - Not a 'Happy Accident,' then..! Jk.in.l.a. btw; Love your new pic..!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    Lol... Well that worked out perfectly! Loved your entry, Kelli!

  • Joe Pattersonabout a month ago

    You put some serious effort into this one.

  • Heather Hublerabout a month ago

    I loved that last line so much!! And I'm appreciating how well people are choosing the main word to also be kind of a theme. Wonderful work, my friend!!

  • That is very well done, great take on it and great fun

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.