Poets logo

Absentminded! Who Me?

Heather Hubler’s Unofficial Unscramble Challenge

By Angie the Archivist 📚🪶Published 15 days ago 1 min read
18
Absentminded! Who Me?
Photo by Nick Page on Unsplash

Where’s my phone?

I demand.

Oh dear!

It’s right here…

In my hand!

I need glasses to see…

I even have three!

My mind bends a bit!

I get in a snit

Where’s my shopping list?

Going without it…

I end up bent

Sent…

Into a twist…

Enough to dement!

The foods’ all been eaten…

We’re not on a diet…

Think… beans… meat…

Take a stab… buy it…

I will not be beaten!

I admit…

I may seem rather sane

But recalling times and dates

In my life’s quite a bane.

It gets intense

When my sock’s mate’s

Nowhere to be seen!

My shirt’s on backwards… in-side out!

I’m teased…

Yes, indeed!

How mean!

Oh, but the maddest

Was when I made chicken pie…

Which wasn’t the best!

The chicken was absent!

All the same…

It’s kinda neat…

When your mind’s in the mist…

It’s hard to beat!

***************

Absentminded - main word, 35 unscrambled words used

humorFor Funfact or fiction
18

About the Creator

Angie the Archivist 📚🪶

Addicted to reading… especially fiction and recently poetry.

Personality of a Labrador.

Attention span of a gnat! 🙃

A Parade Of Shoes: Top Story March 2024

"Look Out... Sauerkraut!": Top Story December 2023

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler9 days ago

    Ah geez!! When your mind's in a mist...that's me all the time anymore!! This was wonderfully creative and all too real. And I'm so impressed you were able to fit in 35 words!!! Loved it :)

  • Caroline Craven10 days ago

    Ha! This was fab! It could also be me… I spent ages looking for my glasses the other night and then realized I was wearing them!

  • TheSpinstress11 days ago

    Oh, so relatable! I always think I can manage without the list but erm...no. I'll forget the main thing I went for. Great poem. :)

  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    I have been known to yell that I’ve lost my phone when it is in my hip pocket; or can’t find my readers when they are propped on top of my head. Loved your poem!

  • Hahahahahahahhahaha chicken pie without the chicken! That was hilarious! Loved your take on this challenge!

  • D.K. Shepard15 days ago

    What a great word choice! And what you did with it is outstanding!! This has so much charm to it! And honestly it’s a bit relatable…

  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    humorous, rhythmic, and applicable to my brain.

  • Hannah Moore15 days ago

    This is great, how you tied those words together!

  • Mariann Carroll15 days ago

    lol, I had cooked something and forgot one ingredient before. It's hard to be in the moment when you have a lot going on in your mind for sure. I have been doing mindfulness meditation a lot lately to help me.

  • Lamar Wiggins15 days ago

    Fun take on the challenge! And you exceeded the expectation. Great work, Angie !

  • Paul Stewart15 days ago

    Love this - there's a franticness to it and the flow is so fun and wired! Love your take on the challenge! Well done, Angie!

  • ROCK 15 days ago

    haha! Very cute and a reminder of a younger me. Now I just don't bother. Great entry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.