Poets logo

Aberration

A Dark Poem About Being One's True Self

By Raven HeidrichPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Aberration
Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

A loneliness has left me unfond

Of the wonders to behold

In this life, I seem not fit

Questions, but nobody can answer them

I am the key to no door

But am I a life worth living?

Could this be my own grave I am digging

By pointing out my oddity?

The matter in which I look at trees

And see somewhere their ecstasy

In taking the breath out of me

Some may look at me and laugh

Or wonder why I seem aloof

But I see what they don’t want me to see

I am their victim

So they can feel free

From the hate they carry

So, why should I have to bury

That which was born to me

By a mother sicker

Who only sang to me

Of gouls and goblins in the afternoon

And how they haunted her and hounded her

In the morning’s fogg-ed gloom?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.