Poets logo

ABCD Love me

An abecedarian poem about self-love

By Emmy BPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
ABCD Love me
Photo by DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

Another notch to add to my

bedpost. Is this an accomplishment or a

crass reminder of my inability to

determine for myself what I need?

Every person I meet is a potential match,

faces passing and changing, each one

giving me the slightest

hope.

I have hope in buckets, fed by an inability to

journey inward. I reap the painful

karma of misplaced affection.

Lying my way through another failed relationship.

My love is out there aren’t they?

Not a fantasy or a person I shoved into a box full

of my expectations.

Poor him, poor her, poor them: unknowing participants in a

quest that should have begun with me. These fake

realities engulf me, engulf years of my life. I keep

smiling and wishing:

"This one is the one." And yet somehow it escapes me, this

understanding that I do not need to be completed. I am

valid. I do not need you to love me? Oh,

what a wonder it would be to believe in these

xanadu dreams, where self-love freely flows,

yearning not for completion but self-acceptance. I want to be

zealous in embracing the person I choose: me.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Emmy B

I write some of my truths, and use words to weave stories and ideas together. Writing is a passion and an outlet for me and I hope to inspire, challenge, or simply be a reflection of others's experiences - to make people feel seen!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 7 days ago

    I LOVE THIS!

  • Manisha Dhalani3 months ago

    I love how this piece flowed, Emmy!

  • Test3 months ago

    Beautiful and poignant!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.