Poets logo

Abandoned Nature

Poem by Sharon "Shayla" Barnhart

By Shayla BarnhartPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Abandoned Nature
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Woke up to the bird chirping

It is 3 a.m. the sun start to rise

as I rub my eyes.

A chill rub my body

I notice I am in the forest

Oh no

I am in the forest

"How did I get here?"

Speaking to myself.

Got off the ground as fast as I could

Started to panic

after hearing the stampede echo

through the woods

Is that a horse?

Is that a wolf?

I ran

Ran without the location pinpoint.

Got to this big strong rooted tree

Dwindling there

Tears roll,

Tree wrapped its branch around me

I cry in that moment

Realizing

I am abandoned

By the people I thought love me.

Left me with no guides in life.

A path is so lonely.

Filling the winds sounds

Animals chattering away

Thier survival!

Vs

Mine Survival?

I thrive connection with people.

I forgot how to reconnect with nature.

Yet, I go insane in here all alone.

I am dying day by day.

Abandonment is not my strong suite.

I am craving for love

Yearning for stabilities

fond of needing a family

Something that will always lingers

so I can come home anytime.

But the lines appear sever.

Abandoned in the nature

Will you teach me ways to feel alive again?

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Shayla Barnhart

Full time mama 🤱🏽

Full time College student 👩🏽‍💻

I’m hard of hearing person 🧏🏽‍♀️

Advocacy/Psychology/Criminal Justice major 📚

Love using emojis 🥰

I love the beach 🏄🏽‍♀️

Two things I miss is

Being a cheerleader 🤸🏽‍♀️

And coffee ☕️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.