Poets logo

A Yellow Day

How I fell in love with the color yellow

By Pragadish KalaivananPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A yellow through the window

The first time I met yellow

it all started with a stinging hello

as my mom lathered turmeric

on a cut, like an experienced medic

to help it clot faster

leaving a yellow stain on her finger

showing me her love

without saying a word

as she cooked my favorite meal

of fried potatoes and dal

that radiated a warm glow

as it shown bright yellow

just as I took the last bite

out came mangos, to my delight

cut and glistening in their skin

so deliciously yellow, it should have been a sin

with my tummy full and tears dry

I gazed out into the evening sky

as the golden-yellow light coated my face

the sun pulled the last trace

of loving yellow, as it was done for the day

and couldn't part ways

with the happiest color

of which I was now a lover.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Pragadish Kalaivanan

I am an Indian poet trying to navigate life. My work is influenced by experiences of growing up in a conformative society and the path that has lead me to become the person I am today. My writing is intended to take you on a journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.