Poets logo

A Writer's Life

A Little of This, A little of That

By Dan R FowlerPublished 9 months ago 1 min read

A Writer’s Life

I wonder what more people want of me,

Those who sit and do nothing stating that they’re free.

Is it not enough this life that I have given,

To toil and sacrifice some call it being driven.

And for what I ask myself as shadows fall,

Casting sorrows and thorns enslaving all.

What does it matter this life that’s now spent,

That filled beggar’s cups, given tops not worth a cent.

Is it my destiny to look away from those in time,

The streetwalkers, speaking lies often too kind.

For to surrender to yarns of meaningless dribble,

Is to value lines giving them purpose, but only a little.

So let them go their way I’ve often said,

As stories swirl in my mind upon my bed.

They entertain me with their whimsical lines

Promising each one will become more than divine.

But, at last, I must free myself or so I’ve been told,

For specters at night from youth till growing old.

But I must keep the door open and I will,

Inviting many to visit, becoming my writing, that’s the thrill.

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great poem! I love writing! Great work!

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.