Poets logo

a week with you

a poem

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 10 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
3
Photo by Jorge Gascón on Unsplash

it lasted all week

this infatuation with you

when I met you, I wasn’t satisfied

with what I saw for the first time

and then I retreated to my little world

until you called

me again

with my things under your wing

you kept coming closer to me

until the explosion of pure adrenaline

when I met you for the second time

my mind confused

refused

to eat, to think, to love

while you planned another route

how could I let you go?

at first, I wanted to

but after a while

I yearned for you to come back

but it was too late for that

so, what do we do now?

you there, everywhere, me here, in one place

I’m stuck and you’re free, but is this freedom worth it?

alone on the road, meeting mates’ maintenance

white nights, French fries, dirty socks

on a tower made of steel

where your vacation was sincere

in your own arms

I wish I was there in yours every time

like this

I miss

your eyes, your lips, your almost bald head

your dry hands

reminiscence of mine

I think somehow

we were made for mutual warmth

but you never let yourself think

of me as your partner

and I don’t want to insist

though you are the only one I truly miss

now

latent among boxes of divergent sizes

befit not only for one life, but for a thousand of them

would you like me if I told you that

I’d love to replace them all

for one you –

the only one in my field of view

-

for M.

-

(2022 – 2023)

---

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.