Poets logo

A Walk with Gaia

A Poem Celebrating Mother Nature

By Shell St. JamesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I walked with my Mother today

We met at the edge of the meadow

where I had left her last

Where forest touches sky

far from concrete and chaos

I rushed into her embrace

enveloped and overcome

by her cool and quiet ways

Wondering why

I’d stayed away

so long

When I chattered on incessantly

focused on

foolish

temporary things

I was hushed by venerable treetops

rendered speechless

by their stature

I followed her closely

down rambling trails

over mossy rocks

Through rust colored

leaves

and pine needle

carpets

Marveling at tiny tea berries

and ghostly Indian pipes

An owl called a greeting

in my clumsy tongue

I answered

Rebuked by sudden silence

An outsider

looking in

Awkward tourist

uninvited guest

When my earthly body

grew warm and weary

she led me to

cool sanctuary

where an ancient tree

welcomed me

to rest

and shelter

against its trunk

Letting my thoughts fade

to green

I closed my tired eyes

Reminiscent of prayer

Devout worshiper

in Nature’s cathedral

As afternoon waned

I emerged from her world

My spirit revived

My faith restored

My purpose renewed

At the meadow’s edge

I listened

As treetops seemed

to whisper

her voice, ethereal

drifting

Fading from my

city senses

Return to me

remember me

walk with me

more often

I am yours

eternal

I am your Mother

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Shell St. James

Shell St. James is a New England author living in an 1895 farmhouse with her musician soulmate, feline muse, and a benevolent ghost. Her novel, "The Mermaid of Agawam Bay", is available on Amazon. Find out more at www.shellstjames.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.