Poets logo

A walk through memory lane

Food for thought

By Hannah MchalePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am a doll. I am soft, squishy, and cuddly like a doll. I am also the box that the doll comes in. An impregnable fortress of zip ties and cardboard that help protect my vulnerability. I am a doll. No longer judged for my body, but in replacement, my face. My face that has been sewn into one emotion. Neutral, or happy. the happy persona is the one I tend to wear the most. Neutral is just there as a friendly host. Tight, straight-lipped, but eyes so happy. A toy that children leave in the rain. A squishy, no longer cuddly wet mess, tired and drained. But they can never show it. They can never show it. Always smiling and making the same old face.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.