Poets logo

A Walk in the Dark

A poem

By AlexZiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
A Walk in the Dark
Photo by Claire Brear on Unsplash

It's always this sense of hopelessness

The skills I have or lack thereof

Everything is less than good enough

Longing for a sense of creativity

Insecure in myself and my abilities

As though in the self there is a rift

An endless void, a bottomless abyss

A wounded heart, a bisecting scar down the middle

No medicine known to man can heal this

Innately disconnected at the seams

Though life is never like my dreams

For I am but the stepping stone

An aid to others but not the self

Painfully fearful of an impending death

However you will not go alone

I am with you when you walk in the dark

The prison, barring nothing than your heart

I shall carry your burdens on my back

Able to mend what has been cracked

I shall never deny you a path to me

For nowhere else will you find a love so free

heartbreaksad poetryinspirational

About the Creator

AlexZi

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AlexZiWritten by AlexZi

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.