Poets logo

The Weight of Expectations

Heavy chains wrapped around my heart Dragging me down, tearing me apart

By NoonajPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
The Weight of Expectations
Photo by Nagara Oyodo on Unsplash

In the quiet depths of despair,

I carry the weight of expectations

Heavy chains wrapped around my heart

Dragging me down, tearing me apart

The world demands so much of me

To be perfect, to never falter

To always smile, never to cry

To shine bright, never to dull

But what if I want to break free

From the shackles of society's gaze

To breathe, to live, to simply be

Without the burden of expectations

I long to play in the rain

To laugh until my sides hurt

To chase after dreams, wild and free

Without the fear of falling short

But the weight of expectations

Looms over me like a dark cloud

Pressing down, suffocating my soul

Leaving me gasping for air

I am tired of pretending

Of wearing masks to please others

I want to strip away the layers

And embrace my true self

I refuse to be defined

By the standards set for me

I am more than just a reflection

Of what others want me to be

So I will shed the weight of expectations

And stand tall in my own truth

Unafraid to stumble, to falter

For I am human, imperfect, beautifully flawed.

Stream of ConsciousnessMental HealthFree Verse

About the Creator

Noonaj

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilake3 days ago

    Yeah sometimes life is that tough. Comprehensive one 😊

NoonajWritten by Noonaj

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.