Poets logo

A Walk Between Worlds

A Journey To Find Your Voice

By Ashley FieldsPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
1
A Walk Between Worlds
Photo by ian dooley on Unsplash

Let’s see here, what can I say? Should I speak of my life and it still be, okay? Why do I feel like if I do, everything changes from old to new? But people like change, I know that indeed, but what if it’s something you don’t want to see? Let’s see here, I guess I will speak again. I’ll tell you how I really have been.

My voice feels like a stranger, unfamiliar to me. Sad and worried, now why may that be? Sweet, sweet girl, take a look at the past! Didn’t you know your voice wouldn’t last? Okay, okay, let’s start from the beginning, you know, don’t you? The way you’ve been feeling? Come with me, I’ll show you the world you can know, the happy one, the bad one, the one that will grow.

So why do you think your voice can’t be heard? Do you remember yourself, word by word? Sweet, sweet baby, yes you learned how to talk! You talked all the time, without any thought. You were happy and fast and words slipped past your lips. Oh, but was that really such a great gift? Soon young one, you were sure to see, how fast words could really change your history.

Because people sometimes don’t like what you have to say, does speaking your mind always make you okay? You spoke of your likes, your faults, and your truths. Imagine this? People went and turned them on you. You looked back and thought of your spoken self, wow, did I really just give them great help? Help to know how to turn my world grey, because they didn’t like what I had to say! So, silence is key? They will just let me be? I’ll do what I’m told, then no one should be mad at me?

From happiness to sadness, year after year. You listened, observed, and carried great fear. Misunderstood, day by day, your light surely dimmed. Maybe, just maybe, I can try to fit in! You listened so well! You know how they are; you know how to be their very best star. So, listen first then act, but never speak your words. Do you remember what happened when everyone heard?

Now at this time, you’re living on dreams! People like you of course, but not what it seems. Dreams of theirs, not yours, wait you live for their smiles? But you lost yourself, you haven’t spoken for such a great while.

Who are you? What’s fun? You really don’t know? Your light, is it gone? Is it buried in snow? You grew cold, trapped, a world behind bars, till a boy walked in with all the same scars. He was fast indeed, sat beside you, let you breathe? He seems so familiar, wait what is happening to me?

Sweet, sweet girl, he would say, “what do you do for fun?” Did he really just ask me that? This is the world that has begun. See this boy made her look, realize the route she had took. How he knew her so well, the pain, the hell. He knew how bars felt, he knew being trapped. She ran away with him, she finally snapped!

Snapped I did say, back into her senses, a mirror image he was, with bad? No! Good, good intentions. Leaving behind the bad, learning how to be good, good with herself, and not the misunderstood. He taught her to open up, to speak again, to learn how to stand, love, and know herself within.

Fear stripped away, ice began to melt, her heart's true desires, her voice she then felt. In return this lonely boy, so strong but in pain, living a life held with grief, revenge to his name. She would show him love no matter the walls, the bars that he grew up in, the very cold halls.

Yes, there was fighting between these lost two, how do you love, when it’s not something you knew? So, they pushed and they pulled fighting this bull and its horns, Till the scales finally tipped love into their cores. The world started to shake, tried to pull them away! Reality hit hard, revealed its truths, and left behind its sweet fakes.

They then found in each other strength to fight in this war, almost giving in many times, they couldn’t take much more. Held each other they cried, he asked her one time, “Should I leave? Is it me? I don’t feel you're fine.” He wanted her happy, she missed feeling numb, because this new world was evil, as evil as they come. “No!” He said, “I can’t leave you be. You mean so much, so very much to me.” But the world took him anyway! Put him back in his trap, but this time was different, he knew he would come back.

Back to her love, to keep her warm, give her shelter. The shelter they both found deep within each other. They took this new love that filled their cold hearts, they turned to their demons and fixed a new start. They grew together! Fought their last battle alone, in return, they finally had a place to call home.

Home is where your heart is, and that they had found, deep within each other, eternally bound. A new world of growth, happiness, and love! Where they could talk for hours, it was never enough. They walked between worlds, held hands through it all. Here this story ends, one last thing I must say, don’t let your voice ever wander away.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Ashley Fields

I'm a book and a story just waiting to be discovered. The question is, do you like to read?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.