Poets logo

A Vow

...

By Rachael MacDonaldPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
A Vow
Photo by Dev Asangbam on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn’t my own.

That girl in the mirror, the color of bone,

She couldn’t be me, I whispered aloud,

For I am a warrior, fierce and proud.

That girl staring back, all haunted and gaunt,

That broken China doll with nothing to flaunt.

With eyes so wide, but cannot see,

I scream and I shout for she is not me.

---

She can not be me, I am happy, not sad.

I cannot remember anything so bad,

Actually now that I think, as I stare at her face,

A feeling of dread slides deep into place.

My brow becomes furrowed,

Fingers white knuckling the sink,

Desperate to conjure images,

Unwilling to blink.

---

That thing in the mirror keeps staring at me,

But I am not her, I am just me,

I am a daughter, a student,

I have a beautiful life,

I am wonderfully free, absent of strife.

---

The tears are now flowing,

Down this stranger’s cold face,

But a funny thing happens, her tears I can taste.

The salt and the grim, the sweat and the fear,

The curve of her mouth,

The jagged breaths I now hear.

But I am not her, so why do I care?

This is not my problem, but I stay, and I stare.

---

The things that I notice on this alien face,

She has got the same mole, in the same exact place.

Surely a coincidence because its’ even got a name,

A mole located there is of Marilyn fame.

I am sunshine, I am golden,

But for all that is holy,

I scream in my mind,

To back away slowly.

---

This isn’t your life. You are viewing a ruse,

Run-away now,

You have nothing to lose.

That girl in the reflection, her face full of rain,

She has known terror,

And she has known pain.

But she is not you,

You scream and you shout,

But that girl in the mirror is giving you doubt.

---

Taking deep breaths, still clutching the sink,

You try to remember; you just have to think.

Last night was a party,

There was drink, there was dance,

There were tons of cute boys,

But there was only once Chance.

---

His face was all smiles, his voice was so sweet,

He made all your cocktails, without missing a beat.

The music was loud, but we had a good time,

Except... it was very loud,

But, I guess it was fine.

Chance pointed upstairs to where we could talk,

Without yelling and screaming,

And before you could balk,

He pulled rather hard, a sharp surprise to you,

Rather dizzy you stumbled, losing a shoe.

---

But that girl in the mirror,

with a dress strap that’s torn

She is not me, I am not worn.

I am a shiny new penny,

Spotless, untouched,

I am immaculate, pristine,

A flower not crushed.

I rail on the glass shouting at her,

I am not you; I am still pure.

---

The upstairs was dark,

you remember that well,

His room was soundproofed

A loud warning bell.

His voice was not right,

He began to get grabby,

You wanted to leave,

You tried so hard to rally.

But your limbs wouldn’t work,

He was whispering then,

You were his to consume,

A stuffed doll to rend.

---

Then nothing.

Just blackness.

A solid wall in the mind.

Swirling smoke casting shadows,

Nothing to find.

---

That girl in the mirror,

The one that's not me,

She opens her mouth.

And I hear her solemn plea.

We are not broken.

We will more than survive.

We will not give in.

We will blossom and thrive.

We are still warriors.

We are still fierce.

The armour we wear,

Shall never be pierced.

slam poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreakart
2

About the Creator

Rachael MacDonald

Avid Reader, Sometimes Poet, Occasional Writer, and searcher of truths often lost in the breaths between candy-coated lies.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Pennabout a year ago

    Wow. This hits hard in the feels. Excellent story telling in poetry form, and an impressive take on this challenge

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.