Poets logo

A Veäry Tale

A Poem Based on The Words In The Glossary Of PJ Harvey's epic poem "Orlam"

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
10
An AI Creation By The Author

Introduction

I am still reading "Orlam" by Polly Jean Harvey and each page in the book is set out in English, then her Dorset dialect. At the end of the book is a glossary of words used in the book and I have to thank Judey Kalchik for providing this link for me to use:

And also the encouragement of Bill O'Neil in the Vocal & Medium Cafe

This is my piece on how "Orlam" is inspiring me.

I originally wanted to only use words in the "Orlam" Glossary but Polly Jean's words use a mix of Dorset and English.

I won't say what the Dorset words mean, and as "Orlam" itself is dark and mythically magical I think I will use the villanelle format, and hope that Vocal are OK with the Dorset dialect, although when you think about it, it is an English dialect.

Judey's link will provide some words but not all, for that you may have to get the book.

The song is "The Nether Edge" from ‘I Inside the Old Year Dying’ the album that accompanies "Orlam"

A Veäry Tale

🌜🦋🍂🐝🧜‍♂️🧚‍♂️🐍🧚‍♂️🧜‍♂️🕷️🍂🦋🌛

Hag-Ridden Through The Grotten To The Hoar Stone

The Jack-o’-lent Moves In LibbetsTo Eat More

Wevvets and Wevvet Queens There In Wagwanton

🧚‍♂️🐍🧚‍♂️

In The Bwoneyard Bedraggled Angels Are Come

Darkling Birds Tardle In Trees With A Culver

Hag-Ridden Through The Grotten To The Hoar Stone

🧚‍♂️🐍🧚‍♂️

A Bleäre In Gore Heard As You Clutch Your Bavèn

Theosom Thieves Wait By The Veäry Ring In Gore

Wevvets and Wevvet Queens There In Wagwanton

🧚‍♂️🐍🧚‍♂️

See In The Leäze The Haulm They Bin Haÿmeäkèn

Here We Hear The Buzzing Noise of Dumbledore

Hag-Ridden Through The Grotten To The Hoar Stone

🧚‍♂️🐍🧚‍♂️

Zedgemocks, Yollerheads, Yoller Roses And Zun

In The Vuzzen The Wheel-Bird Sees The Black Wurse

Wevvets and Wevvet Queens There In Wagwanton

🧚‍♂️🐍🧚‍♂️

Ho's Adder Comes Quietly To Foretell Heissen

The Chattermag Feasts on Chetlens, Devil's Bird

Hag-Ridden Through The Grotten To The Hoar Stone

Wevvets and Wevvet Queens There In Wagwanton

🌜🦋🍂🐝🧜‍♂️🧚‍♂️🐍🧚‍♂️🧜‍♂️🕷️🍂🦋🌛

surreal poetryslam poetryperformance poetrynature poetryCONTENT WARNING
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Talia Devora6 months ago

    Very interesting!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Lynn Jordan6 months ago

    I love this and PJ (my Insta handle is FiveFootQueenie LOL). I have to go back and do the translations because I'm nosey, but then again, I feel that it might lose some of its magic if I do. It's beautiful without knowing what it all means!

  • Lol, the only one I knew was that Dumbledore is Bumblebee! Loved your Villanelle!

  • Beautiful, all the moreso for not understanding a lot of it, lol. I'm on my cell right now & will have to wait until I get home for the translation.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Very creative, although I have no idea what I just read.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    hauntingly beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.