Poets logo

A Trip to Animal Land

Ducklings and Other Poems

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
5
A Trip to Animal Land
Photo by Vincent van Zalinge on Unsplash

Animals are known to be one of the most prominents forms of alternative medicine for people with special needs and medical conditions. Whether we physically or mentally interact with animals through summer camp programs, looking at pieces of artwork with animals in it, or regularly spend time with a pet, we are always having some form of connection with animals.

Although I ultimately write poetry based on food products, places I've been to, and experiences I've had over the years, I also enjoy writing all kinds of animal poems.

My main favourite animal is a dog, because my relatives had dogs and I was often close to them. They were kind of like having my own dogs, especially when it came to my cousin who always had dogs and would often visit my mom, brother, my mother's friends, our other family members, and myself. In addition to being a self-proclaimed dog lover, I also favour other animals like chicks, seals, dolphins, rabbits, and piglets.

Below is a small collection of my animal poems that I've written to show all of my friends and fans on Vocal!

1. Ducklings (haiku-chain)

By Andrea Lightfoot on Unsplash

Blonde baby ducks

waddle to their baskets,

and say- "quack, quack, quack"!

They are soft as fluff

and miniature as beans;

small fuzzy yellow suckers!

A gift from the earth

to bring home with me;

cozy little ducks.

2. Starfish (haiku)

By Lisa Davidson on Unsplash

Living ocean stars.

They crawl on little pebbles,

and sleep on white sand.

3. Poodles (acrostic)

By Alison Pang on Unsplash

Playful as young children on the swings

Overly sweet and cheek-pinching cute

Ornamental like talking figurines

Devoted to the living things they adore

Little like jelly beans tumbling from the tree

Entertaining like a comedy television show

Smart as a thousand universities.

4. Tiny Turtles (acrostic)

By David Levêque on Unsplash

Too scared to fight with others

In their own little world

Nothing to lose in life

Youthful, adorable and children forever.

Tripping along the ivory sandy beaches

Unisex critters that are undressed

Retreating to their own spaces

Tender as glass flower vases

Longing for winter and fall to end

Enjoying the beauty of tropical Florida weather

Sleeping on the pebbly rocks below the cerulean sea.

5. Bluebirds (haiku)

By Richard Sagredo on Unsplash

Dear little warblers;

you sing like living harps

that walk on branches

6. Crabs (brevity)

By Zita Almasy de Zsadany on Unsplash

Vermilion hermit crabs

amble along the beige sandy path

and hear the psalm of the

arctic lake whispering.

By Matt Gunnar on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read my small collection of animal poems. If you found these poems enjoyable and fun to read, please give it a ❤️, share them with others who might like them and don't hesitate to send me a tip to show your appreciation and support. Please subscribe to me and stay tuned for more poems, stories and articles on a variety of interesting subjects. Please feel free to follow and connect with me on Instagram and my animal poems will also be available to read on AllPoetry!

Take care and have a great week!

IG Account: @naturalbibliophile22

By Daniel Corneschi on Unsplash

nature poetry
5

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.