Poets logo

A Tribute to My Favorite Childhood Snack

Smooth as Silk

By Anthony ChanPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
3
Special Thanks to Raspopova Marina on Unsplash.com

Thinking of my favorite childhood snack

With nostalgia's embrace, I'm brought back.

Toasted bread with cream cheese spread,

After adding a spoonful of applesauce, my soul was fed.

Smooth as silk, the applesauce glides,

With a buttery taste, it gently abides,

No lumps or chunks to disturb my palate.

Sliding down like the feel of a perfect ballad

A nice blend of something sweet,

Created as a special treat,

To be enjoyed in my favorite childhood seat,

I always felt this creation was so neat.

A dining experiment, I'd dare to say,

An opportunity for me to seek adventure in a playful way,

Now older and wiser, I realize that I cannot partake,

In this snack of youth, for health's sake,

But memories linger, and smiles arise,

Realizing that my creation was my very own childhood Michelin prize.

So here's to that snack, from days gone by,

A cherished memory, that will never die,

inspirationallove poemsGratitude
3

About the Creator

Anthony Chan

Chan Economics LLC, Public Speaker

Chief Global Economist & Public Speaker JPM Chase ('94-'19).

Senior Economist Barclays ('91-'94)

Economist, NY Federal Reserve ('89-'91)

Econ. Prof. (Univ. of Dayton, '86-'89)

Ph.D. Economics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Yummy snacks! But you're right, even I have to part with some childhood favourites - such is age.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.