Poets logo

A Toast to Forgetting

Momentary relief.

By Will Shimnom SimonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
A Toast to Forgetting
Photo by Kevin Kelly on Unsplash

Give me a flagon of joy,

Let me get drunk with happiness.

Fill my cup to the brim,

Let laughter and mirth flow in.

Let me forget, let it be like a drink,

From the Lethe, even if for a passing moment.

The sorrows of life may remain,

But for now joy shall be my wine.

A toast to life's splendid moments,

Too soon to be forgot or neglected.

Drunken on delight I shall sing,

As solace and cheer the hours I bring.

Fill the flagon once more,

There's cheer to explore!

Fill the flagon again,

with the mead created from Kvasir's spit.

And maybe, just maybe

I may lose myself in creativity.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Will Shimnom Simon

Always the poet... Never the poem.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    I would like to also get Drunk with Happiness ☺️❗📝Great Piece✨💖

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    I'll drink to that - cheers! And like the vino your piece flows beautifully!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.