Poets logo

A Sweet Kid's Fall

Sweet turned Sour

By C. D. GuzmanPublished 25 days ago 2 min read
By Inzmam Khan

It's hard to believe I was once a sweet kid, who loved to play baseball, with joy that never hid. Riding my bike with friends under the sun, now those days of innocence are long gone.

Now I sit in a prison cell, cold and gray, all because of a moment when I lost my way. A moment of weakness, a lapse in control. When the monster you created took its toll.

I let the beast within me break free, and in its rage, it attacked thee. For the pain and hurt I caused, I am sorry, Dad. but I question if you feel the same for the pain I had?

You shaped me with your cruelty, your relentless disdain. Carving my spirit with anguish and pain. Every harsh word, every blow you delivered, turned the sweet kid to a soul left shivered.

I didn't choose this path of sorrow and strife, I didn't choose to carry this broken life. You forged this monster, this beast within, a creation of torment, a product of sin.

For the pain and hurt I caused, I bear the shame. But Dad, can you acknowledge your part in the blame? Are you sorry for the childhood you stole? For turning a loving heart into a tormented soul?

Do you regret the nights filled with fear? The countless times you reduced me to tears? Do you feel remorse for the boy lost in pain? The child who dreamed, now bound by a chain?

I wonder if you ever lie awake haunted by the monster you helped to create. Do you ever wish you had chosen love, instead of the cruelty you were guilty of?

As I sit in this cell, I seek redemption, a way to heal, to find ascension. But I need to know, in your heart of hearts, are you sorry, Dad, for playing your part?

For the sweet kid who loved to play, Is buried beneath this shadowed day. All because of a moment's release, When the monster you made shattered the peace.

For the pain and hurt, I am deeply sorry. But are you, Dad, for the lifelong worry? For the scars that remain, the wounds that bleed? For the love that was lost, the soul in need?

It's hard to believe the sweet kid is gone, yet here I am, trying to carry on. Seeking forgiveness, seeking peace, hoping one day the torment will cease.

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

C. D. Guzman

After a long 18 years I am finally a free man.

Welcome to my therapy, my thoughts, my struggles, my life.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    C. D. GuzmanWritten by C. D. Guzman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.