Poets logo

A sunset Embrace

From across the room

By Marty MedranoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A sunset Embrace
Photo by Jordan Wozniak on Unsplash

When sunset fires caressed your splendid face

They brought with it the pure desire to cherish and embrace.

To hold your hand or feel your tender kiss

A simple smile and I was in perfect bliss.

And as I reminisced on the night behind

I sensed your body pressed to mine that night,

Knowing another like you I would not find

I held you close until the touch of light.

From across the room you shone despite a night of dark

The first time we met I felt that sudden spark.

The urge to flee escaped from within my heart

Replaced with the desire to never be apart.

And as I watched your perfect figure mingle

I felt instantly that you were beyond my reach,

Despite my spine been rushed by that nervous tingle

Somehow my courage remembered the art of speech.

Now years have passed since the time that we first met

So much more to do – our sun has not yet set.

A plethora of adventures still await

I know our union was just simply fate.

It won’t be easy – our journey will be full of trouble

Raising children will assure of this,

Our tired bodies will be seeing double

We’ll do it together – Because that’s what true love is.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Marty Medrano

A creative individual who has been writing for as long as I can remember. Love to write poetry (sonnets and odes), stories with a little bit of a twist, and currently working on a novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.