Poets logo

A Summer well spent

A Sonnet

By Chandler OlofPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Summer well spent
Photo by Kym MacKinnon on Unsplash

I hit that sweet spot, just like we all do,

lost my childness in the woes of growth.

A truth that was hard, yet one I came to.

Made my promises: Hippocratic oath.

I would heal, not hurt and get peace of mind

found myself wanting; a personal cry

I left bugless nights, left nostalgia behind.

Then seeing falsehood, a resounding “Why?”

I had ev’rything before me always,

Soft night memories galore, smells of rain,

Friends to spend time with, skating in driveways,

July barbecues, dreading school and Twain...

On my return, monsoons kicked up the scent;

These are my signs of a summer well spent.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Chandler Olof

Fascination belongs to the believer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.