Poets logo

A Steel Box in Balance

Four bullets stabbed me from my inside out. And I'm looking directly at where they got lodged.

By Tânia Miranda de CarvalhoPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Illustration by Angela Chilufya

Rise and shine! Wake up!

She's been shot four times but still breathes. There's blood on her arms, legs. There's blood on her knees and fingers, but she's still breathing.

Rise and shine girl it's time to begin walking! She moves her head left and right and mumbles

"Where is the shooter? He took something from me, where is the shooter?"

He took a box. He took a hard box filled with nothing. A steel box weighting; waiting to be passed on to the next victim. Before, it had sharp bullets: each one slides from his chest and dives into this box; each one of four bullets take its time and each one of four bullets take a different quality into it:

Number one: Need;

Number two: Lack of balance;

Number three: Lack of management;

Number four: Lack of self-contentment.

Rise and shine. Please? Girl, you have to catch me.

The box wasn't yours, he just took it back from you. Before, he had placed it right in the middle: below her belly button, at the center; he placed it in her balance zone, her inner peace, where she goes to ground herself.

With a kiss in the lips and a promise about the future, a sweet sound of his voice echoes

"Thank you for your support. I love you. And the infinity of this clock will prove it."

Once activated, it became a ticking time bomb.

Rise and shine my lady! I began to fear, I began to fade. You have to get up now before I go away! She recognizes me and begins to say

"You're me. We're the same person.

And I'm fully aware of what happened.

I've been imploded and not shot.

Four bullets stabbed me from my inside out

And I'm looking directly at where they got lodged.

I'm the body but you're my actual pain

I'm laying down weightless, embracing the changes brought upon me

Because everywhere we look at, is stuck in the past.

The shooter is gone now, fixed and ready to be refilled

To be re-lifted and relieved

(That's what their ritual is)

From the same soul features as those bullets he has left you with:

Number one: Need;

Number two: Lack of balance;

Number three: Lack of management;

Number four: Lack of self-contentment.

Her words pushed me hard, I didn't want to accept them.

She smiled with her eyes, happy that I was leaving and taught everyone her tough freeing lesson:

"Dear woman,

Don't accept any steel boxes. Ever again.

For your balance zone is for yourself,

Your balance zone will keep you

Yourself."

Inspired by an Untitled Poem by Muni Pilgrim

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Tânia Miranda de Carvalho

Performer. Actor. From the Margem Sul of Portugal, based in London. Watch Maria José The Receptionist below!

https://youtu.be/pnad_8By11Q

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.