Poets logo

A Speckle of Color

The art reflects the artist

By Nicole StairsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

These dots connect no line

Spaced apart, far and fine

As a child I begged them fade

Lived life only in the shade

Some are big, others small

I ne'er dare count them all

Ugly I thought them be

Until I saw a little one like me

I stilled their hand and smiled

This wild and astonishing child

And begged them not to fret

Or their dappled color regret

I spoke the words I needed to hear

When I myself, covered in fear

Shunned the outside world of light

Ne'er allowing my sprinkled skin be bright

"These marks are kisses from angels

Perhaps from all different angles

A collection of you, same as me

Rare, simple, and full of beauty

"Wear the markings of your story

In all their imperfect glory

Show your badges of color proud

Even the ones so very loud

"Bear the blots, the spots

Be they brown, or nots

Embrace the happiest of speckle

And do so love the color of freckle."

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Stairs

My sister says I'm haunted. Guess that's why they say "Write what you know". If I have to deal with it, dear reader, then so do you. I throw in the occasional sweet story, just for a palette cleanser...enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.