Poets logo

A small, simple mistake Could change my fate

A Twist of Fate: How a Small Mistake Changed My Life Forever

By Safa JamaPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
1
A small, simple mistake
Could change my fate
Photo by Daiga Ellaby on Unsplash

A small, simple mistake

Could change my fate

A misplaced object

Leading me to a different date

I was running late

For a school play

Forgot my flute at home

All I could do was pray

The teacher scolded me

For not being prepared

I felt ashamed

For letting everyone down, I despaired

But little did I know

That this small miss

Would lead to something

I never could have wished

Instead of playing the flute

I was handed a script

To fill in for a missing actor

My heart began to skip

Reluctant at first

But I gave it a try

And to everyone's surprise

I shone like the sky

The applause, the cheers

Filled me with joy

A new passion awakened

In this once shy and introverted boy

From that moment on

I joined the drama club

My talent blossomed

Like a delicate flower bud

I learned to express

My deepest emotions

The stage became my home

My greatest devotion

I no longer felt lost

Or like I didn't belong

With each new role

I found my own song

A minor oversight, so slight,

Could alter my course, quite,

Misplaced, a simple object, one night,

Redirecting destiny's flight.

I, tardy for a play's delight,

Forgot my flute, my plight,

Chastised by the teacher's might,

A wave of shame, a solemn sight.

Yet, in this mistake's bite,

A twist of fate, shining bright,

Given a script, a chance to ignite,

My hidden talent, out of sight.

Reluctant, yet willing to incite,

Surprising all, my acting took flight,

Applause and cheers, a guiding light,

A passion discovered, burning bright.

Joining the drama club, out of the night,

My talent blossomed, a newfound height,

Expressing emotions, with all my might,

The stage, my haven, my ultimate rite.

No longer adrift, or out of sight,

Each role, a melody, in the night,

Finding my place, in the limelight,

A journey begun, towards my rightful height.I once read said, 'a small thing misplaced, but a big life lesson embraced'. It's up to us to guide children through these experiences and help them grow into responsible, self-reliant individuals.

As a child, I was a bit of a scatterbrain. My toys, books, and clothes were always strewn about, much to the chagrin of my neat-freak parents. They tried their best to teach me the importance of organization, but it always seemed to go in one ear and out the other. That is, until the day I misplaced something very important to me.

It was a little porcelain figurine that my grandmother had gifted to me on my 5th birthday. It was a delicate ballerina, dressed in a pink tutu, poised in a graceful dance. I cherished it dearly and always made sure it was displayed prominently on my dresser. But one day, while cleaning my room, I must have accidentally knocked it off the dresser and it disappeared.

I searched high and low, turning my room upside down, but it was nowhere to be found. I frantically enlisted the help of my parents, but even they couldn't find it. As days turned into weeks, I couldn't help but feel a sense of panic and dread wash over me. That little figurine was more than just a toy to me, it held sentimental value and losing it made me feel like I had failed in some way.

As time went on, my parents gave up on the search and I learned to accept that it was gone forever. But the impact of its loss on my young mind was profound. I had always been a carefree child, but now I became anxious and stressed. I would constantly double-check if I had everything with me, afraid that I might misplace something else. This carried over to school, where I would panic if I couldn't find a pencil or my homework.

My self-esteem took a hit too. I was known as the girl who lost her grandmother's gift, and I constantly felt like people were judging me for it. It was a small thing, but it had taken on a much bigger role in my life than it should have. I had lost trust in myself and others to keep track of my belongings.

Years went by, and I eventually outgrew my scatterbrained tendencies. But the lesson that I learned from that missed place thing stayed with me. It wasn't just about being careful with my belongings; it was about taking responsibility for my actions. Losing something important had taught me that my actions have consequences, and it was up to me to deal with them.

Now, as a parent myself, I make sure to teach my children the importance of keeping track of their things. But I also understand that accidents happen, and sometimes things get lost. It's important to reassure them that it's okay, and that we can learn from these mistakes.

As for my grandmother's figurine, it may be lost forever, but the lesson it taught me will always remain. A missed place thing can have a profound impact on a child's life, but with the right guidance and support, they can learn and grow from it.

childrens poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Safa Jama (Author)3 months ago

    Thank you I appreciate that you took the time to read this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.