Poets logo

A single cell amoeba in the petri dish of life

Reflection in the dish

By Keith MolePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Petri dish of colour

You are the stone in my shoe, feeding the blister on my soul You are the label on my skin, itching, annoying, aggravating. You are the stubborn oil stain on my shirt, apparently vanish proof, You are the cold wind on a wet day, as if rain wasn’t bad enough. You are the splinter beneath my skin, refusing to move You are the storm damaged house, the hole in my roof You are my rheumatoid joints, two steel leviathans scraping together. You are the devil on my back, the lumber puncture I don’t need. You are my stale last slice, and cold cup of tea, You are the fly in my soup, the shark in my stew

and yet,

You are the air all around me, soothing my lungs Without you, I am a single cell amoeba in a Petri dish awaiting the alcohol swab and oblivion . You are my soul sister, my terra firma, my flame haired Aphrodite. I would crumble, without your forgiving touch upon me. You pull me from the vast void of my self-erected desolation, You place me in a cocoon of warm water, and soft fluffy bath robe. You tell me everything is all right and I believe you.

I always will.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Keith Mole

Born and raised in Newcastle, England. Moved to New Zealand 1996. A career in Information Technology - redundant in Feb 2010. Took a (BA) in creative writing and then studied at the NZ Film and Television school. Actor/Writer/Grandad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.