Poets logo

A Simple Gift

dedicated to Teressa

By Denise DavisPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Best Dog Ever

Sleek and silky, Rufus awaits

Best dog in the world -

knowing that,

as light turns golden,

the moment will come.

“Walk?” I ask.

Up he leaps,

tail sweeping side to side,

and, dare I add,

he’s smiling?

Patient, he accepts the leash,

his required tether

of domesticity.

We leave our yard.

On concrete walks and

paved paths, he trots,

denying himself sumptuous scents

and opportunities of relief,

trusting

the moment will come.

Inside the course,

I unsnap the lock.

Black and white fur blows back

as he bounds across green grass

against a twilit sky.

Beyond my gaze,

he roams free,

unaware, I think, of me.

But then, with stick in mouth,

he returns and drops it at my feet.

The invitation so clear:

“Play with me,

and see what I can do!”

Over & over I throw the stick

to his delight and mine.

I laugh, I relax, I revel -

his singular beauty unmatched.

Until, of course, the sky so dark,

I raise my hand and bark,

“Ru!”

And back he comes, ready

to be re-tethered,

to be home.

***************

The golden light is nearing.

I’ve waited long enough.

My tether to domesticity unlocked,

I bound free in new space.

Words, I bring.

“Play with me!” I besiege you.

Take what I offer, what you may need,

as twilight deepens into night.

Then, a hand will rise,

my name called,

And to home

I will return.

inspirationalnature poetry

About the Creator

Denise Davis

A Manhattan-toasted, Kentucky marinated, Southern Californian, this 60+ year old woman has studied writing, taught writing and admired writing. It's time to actually begin writing. We shall see how this goes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Great poem!

Denise DavisWritten by Denise Davis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.