Poets logo

A shield to a sword

how it lands on the other side

By Sarah LennPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like

You use silence like a shield

for protection, you say-

as if I am a wild beast

gnashing, biting, clawing

you to shreds.

Meanwhile your silence

is the sword that keeps

slicing at my skin,

finding all the weak spots,

seeking to land a final

death blow.

It wounds me outside of

space and time,

wherever I dwell,

no matter how far

I think I've come.

Your shadow sword tracks

me by my heart, slow to

change, stubborn like yours.

This time, though, I think I've

finally found a way to trick it

for good.

If I pierce my own heart.

If I bleed it dry.

It will never find me again.

Keep your shield.

You will never know my pain.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Lenn

Using writing as a way to capture snapshots of emotion on a screen whilst life happens. And life has thrown me some curve balls. Always striving to find a path through the chaos...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.