Poets logo

A Shekel for Your Thoughts

Around 26 US Cents

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
2
Photo by zeevveez (CC BY 2.0) on Flickr

“A shekel for your thoughts.”

They may be more expansive or perhaps much cheaper from the looks of things.

“Didn’t you mean, more expensive?”

No! The a also stands for Anthi; my Anthi. I miss her when I cannot see her and thus I like to insert her initial when and where I can.

“Do you think that your passion for her will last?”

Only as long as I can breathe.

“Will you write about her every day?”

I do and will, but some pieces are not for publication and only for our eyes and chests.

“Don’t you mean, hearts?”

No! The heart is a blood pump as I mentioned more than once. Feelings are felt in the chest, not the heart. Feeling one’s heart may be a symptom of a forthcoming medical issue.

“So, all poets and other writers erred?”

It was probably easier to use the heart than the whole chest, which also includes the breasts. Moreover, most poets and other writers have no clue about the physiology of the heart, continuing the erroneous tradition of attributing every feeling to this organ. Every feeling begins in the brain and may then be felt in the chest. I can feel my love for Anthi filling and flooding my chest. M’s flood is a daily occurrence and is not mythical.

“I don’t know what to say.”

Say anything or do not say anything at all. Silence is often golden, but we all seem to have something to say, no matter what it is. When I think about the most important pieces I have read on Medium, they are always poetic in some sense. Non-poetic ones are easily forgettable like most haikus and other ridiculously short so-called poems. Give me a break! You cannot redefine poetry to fit your agenda or lack of poetics, and those silly prompts give me a gag reflex which I can luckily control by thinking about the heart.

“Come on, M! Or is this Patrick?”

Does it really matter?

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    I loved the subtle humour here! I do believe that we feel things in our chest rather than our heart.

  • Margaret Brennan7 months ago

    Excellent. Often, people don't understand when I say something that my brain throws out and trying to explain it, loses something in the context.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.