Poets logo

A Sanctuary

Kairos

By SchmalzPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Sanctuary
Photo by Claudia Soraya on Unsplash

I could feel no pain I had no sense of time

Enthusiasm grabbed a hold of my mind

Lost in these games that were playing

Still I wasn’t losing any concentration

Can’t say I’ve ever felt this way before

Don’t know if I’ll ever feel it again

I found my groove don’t feel I’ll ever die

Trying to explain this sound like a man gone out his mind

Like a runner in a second wind I think I’ve found my stride

Free as the clouds in the sky I’m high on pure intuition

Don’t need nobody giving me false inspiration

The way I’m moving feels so sublime

Rationality and emotions left my mind

My ears can’t hear and my eyes went blind

Rhythms of the world and execution are divine

That wholesome place where body meets the mind

It must be something holy or a case of the sublime

Sweat and pain that ease the tension of this life

No one to call and I don’t need no place to hide

A sanctuary that banishes all who it finds

All that energy but would you free your mind

A moment where forever and never are in your plain of sight

A place where your boundaries of existence can’t be defined

All before you realize there’s one more peak to climb

The bridge that your existence is longing to find

Reverence for all the pain you’ve surmised

When sanctuaries fall it feels like your demise

Deeper in the dark and brighter in your eyes

Tools of creation and destruction are intertwined

How do you discover the power of humankind

Open up your eyes and the world you will find

art
Like

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Love the rhythm of this poem, great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.