Poets logo

A Rose In Winter

Loveliest of Flowers

By Cindy CalderPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

I first saw you from across the room that summer day

And thought your beauty the fairest in existence

Despite the beads of ice that stayed

To surround in disarming persistence.

You were the loveliest of all the flowers that bloomed,

Sweet as the songs the birds did sing high in the trees,

And within my breast, each day and night therein loomed

The purest admiration for you deep within me.

I love you as no other I have ever known or loved,

My heart beckons you with an immeasurable appeal,

Be mine forever and let me call you my beloved

So that you might see this depth of love for you is real.

Thou art the loveliest of flowers, a rare winter rose,

To which my heart whispers words of love that only it knows.

nature poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.