Poets logo

A Roadside Meeting

Helping a snake friend.

By Gargie S AnandPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
7
A Roadside Meeting
Photo by Jeffrey Hamilton on Unsplash

While on my evening jog today,

Encountered a snake along the way

Was looking gloomy, as he laid on the road

But in that moment, I felt deep concern,

Wishing somehow his troubles could unturn.

I stopped, concerned for his life

He seemed to be burdened, heavy and tight

After pausing for a bit more,

Emotions spoke

Could understand his struggles to the core

He shared his story, and I lent an ear,

A dispute with his mate, it was clear,

I offered comfort, a heartfelt plea,

-This is no reason to end a life

He should go and chat with his wife.

Assumed he could understand me somehow

I continued on my journeys track

As he crossed the roads crack

As I jogged on, a thought remained,

Understanding and love, always sustained.

By Neelakshi Singh on Unsplash

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryinspirationalheartbreakGratitudeFriendshipFamilyart
7

About the Creator

Gargie S Anand

Gargie is a graduate in Economics and English. She loves to write about tiny things happening around. She tries to capture every moment of life through her writing. A soul who believes her powers lie within the pen and a paper.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶2 months ago

    Snakes are not my favourites… but this was a sweet tale.

  • Awww, this was so sweet of you! Loved your poem!

  • Michelle Liew3 months ago

    Saw a few here! They are beautiful and scary at the same time.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.