Poets logo

A Reflective Report

a love letter to the one in the mirror

By Dany Jean-PierrePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Song Jia by Leslie Zhang (T Magazine China 2019)

Hey Mirror Me

I know we haven't talked in awhile

Because I only catch you in glimpses

When I walk past reflective surfaces

But hey you look great

Or at least I think you do

Because every day when I have to face you in the mirror between glances at the floor

I always name off 5 amazing and beautiful things that I love about you

1.I love the way the dips in your hips make

Perfect indents for your soulmates hands

2. I love the way your dimples create galaxies when you smile

3.I love the freckle that is perfectly balanced between your cheekbone and your jaw

4. I love the way your scars create a beautiful watercolor of a red and brown flower that is incomparable to any other

5. I love the deep brown of your eyes that looks like dark chocolate that makes it so easy to care about you

Hey Mirror Me

I know you get a little down most times

And how the tears streaming down your face look like waterfalls that will never dry

But never forget that you are beautiful

The way that boy made you feel when he called your hair ugly

Doesn't matter

The way that girl told you

You looked more like a boy

And you had no right being a girl

They don't matter

You are beautiful

They don't deserve your tears

They don't deserve the satisfaction you've given them

So dear Mirror Me

Look Through the Mirror at me

And realize that I am here for you

Always and forever

And I will see you tomorrow.

surreal poetrylove poems
Like

About the Creator

Dany Jean-Pierre

They/Them

I started with libraries and now I’m trying to fill one with all of my own works.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.