Poets logo

A Real Pane!

Ode to a pane.

By Mark GagnonPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
8
A Real Pane!
Photo by Rob Wingate on Unsplash

I don't understand.

People are always calling me a pane.

Just what have I done to deserve such disrespect?

I let in the light while blocking the wind and cold.

I can enhance a room's beauty while protecting people from storms.

So, what is it that has garnered me this moniker?

I know people don't enjoy cleaning me but is getting dirty my fault?

It's all about respect.

Those of us that quietly go along doing our jobs are invisible, which is what I'm supposed to be.

It's a pain being a pane.

humor
8

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 minutes ago

    Cleaning them is a pane, that's true 😁

  • I could totally understand pane's pain of being a pane. Loved your ode!

  • Thanks, Donna! As you know, poetry isn’t really my thing so I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    This is so brilliantly witty Mark! I love the humour you brought this wonderful poem about a very important part of everyone's homes!! Great work!

  • Meg9 months ago

    Such a witty, clever poem! I will never disrespect my windows again haha

  • Andrei Z.9 months ago

    This is witty! Also, true. Sometimes people suck at giving names

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    I know you meant for this to be funny but I found it tremendously beautiful too. I love sitting at my window pane. Spectacular poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.