Poets logo

A Rain Dance In Summer

The Joy Of Being In The Moment

By Danielle Elizabeth AndrewsPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
2
A Rain Dance In Summer
Photo by Павло Павлюк on Unsplash

With a thud the heel of my hand perseveres

And the swollen window frame swings free

Instantly, my senses are invigorated.

~

The pungent fragrance of old dampened wood from the rain-soaked sill greets my nostrils first.

The brook below my window babbles its cheerful tune while the mossy scent of the water’s banks wafts upward.

The raindrops tap dance upon every leaf, branch, and blossom outside my room.

~

The heightened aroma of every blooming bud is magnificent.

Rain is such a wondrous gift.

Where would we be without it?

~

Oh, I’d lit several tealights and tapers;

Fully intending to embark on an afternoon meditation,

But how can I ignore the beckoning of a rainy day such as this?

~

Blowing out each flame, and forgoing my shoes,

I dart out the door and spin around in the rain shower.

Throwing my head back in wonder as the invigorating droplets splatter upon my face.

~

The soothing water caresses every contour of my skin.

The effect, so revitalizing, I can feel it deep within.

The pure joy I feel in this moment could never be considered a sin.

~

I gaze ahead to the brooks flowing depths,

Two speckled frogs barely concealed beneath the surface,

Their third, having just gleefully lept.

~

This jolly green and black fellow appears as elated as can be!

So I give him ample room to hop his little rain dance.

Hopping to and fro, he croaks quite cheerfully.

~

I sway beneath the misty sky, raindrops soaking my worry-free brow.

A westerly wind causes every flower to shimmy in its own sort of dance,

And at this moment, I wish everyone could feel so happy and free.

. . .

If you've enjoyed reading this, please consider giving it a "like" by clicking on the ❤️! If you'd like to read more of my writing, be sure to subscribe! Tips and pledges are voluntary, and so greatly appreciated!

This poem was originally published on Medium:

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us).

Follow me on: Twitter and Medium

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred3 months ago

    Again wonderful words, and summer rain is beautiful. Love the image

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Another gorgeous piece. I love a summer rain.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.