Poets logo

A Prayer for Water

For the loves you’ve had to leave behind because you weren’t ready.

By Jennifer TicknerPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Jennifer Lynne Tickner.

Like a wave upon a shore

you crashed into me

engulfed me, swallowed me

and I, a child

chose loneliness,

over swimming lessons

I dragged myself to dry land

renounced the waters which held me,

that wicked beautiful blue

but dry lands and clear skies

are nothing but raindrop goodbyes

and murky waters, sick sweet affection

my sights set back on that ocean salt air

but when I returned

the beach wasn’t there

then that I’d grown to love the tides

and learned to swim, too late

now that I’ve learned to love at all

now, i pray for water.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Jennifer Tickner

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    Loneliness over swimming lessons 🩷 beautiful writing here 🌊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.