Poets logo

A Poetic Promise to Myself

It’s Time…

By Annie Edwards Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
4
A Poetic Promise to Myself
Photo by Chang Duong on Unsplash

Dear self,

My Poetic Promise to Myself:

Through it all, I have survived.

There must be a reason I'm still alive.

*and I must seek it…*

If I want my soul to feel revived,

I must be willing to take a deeper dive,

while refusing to be ruled by what my head may contrive.

*easier said than done…*

But the truth upon which I have arrived

is that I have too many blessings to feel deprived.

So from this moment, I solemnly strive

to allow myself to truly thrive.

and never again “lose” that drive.

*for it was never lost to begin with*

My Poetic Life Philosophy

I refuse to live a life where I merely exist,

for life loses value when one doesn’t persist.

🌱 Survival is an instinct.🌱

🎁Life is a gift.🎁

May my adventure continue, and in the beautiful way it was meant to be received.

…This beautiful journey is to be continued…

By Reuben Juarez on Unsplash

Through thick and thin,

The person who never left your side…and never will…

inspirationallove poemssocial commentaryperformance poetry
4

About the Creator

Annie Edwards

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.