Poets logo

A Poem of Dirty-Sounding Words That Make Me Laugh

Common words often impact my silliness greatly

By Jason ProvencioPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I can’t hear certain words without losing my mind laughing. Photo by Jose Losada on Unsplash

Sometimes I act like a little kid,

I hear certain words and flip my lid.

“skid”

There’s never really been a choice,

The word is said in someone’s voice.

“moist”

I wish my reaction to be null,

But here I laugh, as if senile.

“penal”

Even when ill, hot with fever,

wanting sleep or relief, but feeling neither.

“beaver”

I could be imprisoned, rotting in jail,

no chance of escape, stuck in my cell.

“cocktail”

Hearing these words stops me in my spot,

I freeze and try to ignore the thought.

“kumquat”

I probably need to quit being daft,

Attempt to grow up and be a man.

“shaft”

I hope to never testify,

if someone has to ask me why.

“rectify”

I promise I did not medicate,

Hearing this word was just pure fate.

“masticate”

I would prefer not to divulge,

please don’t ask, I won’t indulge.

“bulge”

The night’s been long and time a thief,

I should get up and brush my teeth,

“beef”

Even as the night time falls,

One more word, to me, it calls.

“balls”

I should get up and go to bed,

It’s getting late, that’s what she said,

“head”

This went too long, it’s sort of dumb,

at least I laughed a lot, then some.

“come”

I suddenly have a breathing loss,

my wife stares at me, quietly cross.

“meat sauce”

Not even one more word or peep

It’s time to cuddle and go to sleep.

*deep

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jason Provencio

78x Top Writer on Medium. I love blogging about family, politics, relationships, humor, and writing. Read my blog here! &:^)

https://medium.com/@Jason-P/membership

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.