Poets logo

A poem inspired by my father

No subtitle needed

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A poem inspired by my father
Photo by Derek Thomson on Unsplash

A strong wind came and blew away the clouds.

Left me to finally figure it out.

Now look, I’m not even touching the ground.

We deal with what we are given at hand

Finally relieved that I understand.

Things don’t always go according to plan.

That does not mean I’m lamb led to slaughter.

Even over death when treading water.

My legs will kick, and I will get stronger.

My aspirations are now breaths of life.

Every single day is a title fight.

And won’t be long until I hit my stride.

But I can’t pretend to forget the past.

I know I will see days of overcast.

The clouds above can never hide the truth.

These tough times, they don’t last; tough people do.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.