Poets logo

A poem from The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

Because my honey turns 42!

By Sandra Tena ColePublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - May 2023
66

You say my eyes are like smooth chocolate,

And I feel so very pleased,

But your eyes are blue like steel,

So I don’t think of any food,

But rather the food I can cook,

And eat and enjoy!

Yet saying you’re the "cherry on the top" sounds far too common for you and me,

Yes, I’m a foodie, don’t you see?

So, how can I compare you to a summer grill?

Let me count the ways:

You’re the sweetcorn in my tuna,

You’re the biscuits to my tea,

The cream cheese on my bagel

And the eggs to my French toast.

You’re the curry to my chicken

You’re the garlic to my beans,

The tortillas to my eggs,

And the pasta to my bakes.

You’re the butter on my crumpets,

Like hot chocolate on a wintery day,

Like the cheese on my risotto,

And the mustard on my buns,

The wasabi on my sushi,

Or the ice cream on my cake,

The peanut butter in my spoon,

And the sprinkles in my banana bread.

You’re the mushroom in more curry,

The broccoli in my noodle stir,

The veggie pasta after a long performing day,

And more curry on my naan.

You’re the cinnamon tea alongside barbacoa,

The pizza to our movie night,

The salt and vinegar to my fish and chips,

The veggie sausage to mock the far right

(and genuinely to enjoy!)

You’re the honey to my lemon and ginger,

The cider in my apple pie,

And probably so much more,

Because I just love so much food!

You’re the pesto to my pasta,

You’re the onion on my grill.

The black coffee to my Janeway,

The dark chocolate on my everything!

~*~

Thank you for reading this fun in-joke between Stevie Stephen Cole and me! If you liked it, please leave a heart and share it along!

You might also enjoy the story of how we met by clicking on The Doctor and the Bell, and how we created His & Hers Theatre Company by clicking here. Here's also the account of the difficulties we went through with my immigration and during the pandemic as self employed creators here.

surreal poetry
66

About the Creator

Sandra Tena Cole

Actress, Model, Writer

Co-producer at His & Hers Theatre Company

Esoteric Practitioner

Idealist

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arctic27 days ago

    I ain’t gonna lie, this made me kind of hungry 🤪

  • Rebecca Patton30 days ago

    This was fun to read, what with all the delicious food analogies. You showed your love for your love quite well!

  • Happy Birthday to Stevie!!! I really enjoyed reading this. So many great combinations... I especially enjoyed "the peanut butter in my spoon." You and Stevie obviously have a wonderful relation.

  • Chantae Harding11 months ago

    This was an amazing read.

  • This is an awesome fun read! Congrats on your Top Story!

  • Vijay Paul11 months ago

    I'm drooling now haha

  • Andrew C McDonald11 months ago

    42 was the computer number symbolizing the * which, in code, meant, insert whatever you wish here… Thus, 42, as the answer/meaning to life the universe and everything basically meant “The answer is whatever you want it to be.” … Ask Jackie Robinson. 😎😁😎🎵 Douglas Adams was a bit of a computer nerd. but, I still keep my towel handy. One never knows. Great job.

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Aww, this was so wonderfully sweet! And you were talking my language with all the food :) Lovely work, congratulations on Top Story.

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Very well done. Now I feel hungry. You have a new subscriber.

  • Charisma Pino11 months ago

    A love so sweet. Nice one❤️

  • Doc Sherwood11 months ago

    Sexier still for the good Captain's appearance at the end! Was there any member of the viewing public who didn't look forward to her ordering coffee ice cream from the replicator? Loved the whole poem but that reference was the...well, please don't make me say the icing on the cake!

  • Silent Scarlett11 months ago

    Smooth and sexy voice of writing

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💖🎉🎉🎉

  • Fizzah Fatima11 months ago

    https://vocal.media/families/how-to-control-overpopulation

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    That was really good. Well done!

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    I'm suddenly hungry! A delightful Douglas-Adams-inspired TS!

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Oooo. Why do I hear dinner bells? Well done! Congratulations 🥇x 2

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Clever! Well done!

  • Amazing! I love this.

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Quite the anniversary week!

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    "You're the butter on my crumpets" - no higher praise was ever spoken anywhere 😁

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Phenomenal job well done. Congrats. 👏🏼

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Congrats on the TS

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.