Poets logo

A Plea For Covid To Leave

A Covid Poem

By DaphsamPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 2 min read
A Plea For Covid To Leave
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

When we met, you came on very subtly.

Just a touch here, a pang there.

I thought at first, maybe we could,

Get along, you do your thing, and I do mine.

***

The two red line confirmation,

Was just a sad verification.

A tango between us was coming about.

A hot, steamy, sweaty combustion that made me shout.

***

You left me exhausted in bed.

From our feverish tumble, I felt dead.

My muscles and brain was had prisoner from your charms,

No water or drugs could disarm.

***

Each day, you left me gifts,

Brain fog rifts,

Headaches that come and go,

Stuffy nose that makes my breathing so slow.

***

Just when I thought,

Our time was over, it was naught.

‘Twas on day four,

You really started a war!

***

My morning throat was sore!

Not like a “regular” sore throat.

A throat that felt like a razor blade had explored.

Sheared off a layer of my flesh, leaving fresh raw sores.

***

Now you are abusing me,

You teased me first with taking my fever away,

But then you upped your game.

With this painful act!

***

Striping me of taste buds and smell too,

Food and tea is nothing but a

Tasteless faceless experience.

Is this your claim to fame?

***

I continue to drag,

My soldier’s body through your decay,

And continue to obey.

Your game, your rules, are underway.

***

Day six.

And I am faced with more challenges.

From your visit

Adding my most vulnerable body part to the mix.

***

For your desire to have me cough

And do it deeply.

No matter how I feel so weakly.

***

My lower back has gone out!

A nerve pain went throughout,

After my answer cough to you,

Left with a back spasm that grew and grew.

***

So Covid,

You have had your sojourn.

In my body for days.

I need to climb out of this hazy phrase.

To begin my life anew,

Just please lift this fog,

So I am contiune to live life strong.

Stream of Consciousnesssad poetryFree Verse

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Stephanie Hoogstad6 months ago

    Ugh I hated having Covid. Even after the rest of my symptoms had calmed down, I couldn’t taste salt for days, and I have asthma, so my breathing wasn’t right for much longer. I’m so sorry that you went through/are going through this. On the bright side, I think you did well in capturing the feeling of Covid in your poem, and I like how you portrayed them as a person that you’re at odds with. Well done.

  • Phil Flannery6 months ago

    Covid sucks.

  • I'm so SO sorry that you're going through this. Really hoping you'll get well soon. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    I can certainly feel your pain in this poem. Covid is relentless! Please take care of yourself and I hope you feel better soon.

  • Ace Melee6 months ago

    My whole family got COVID. COVID increased my stomach issues for a long time after. It felt like a cold, which lasted longer than two weeks. I also lost my taste and smell. I hated it. Glad you're writing a poem about this. Get well soon.

  • Leslie Writes6 months ago

    You definitely captured the Covid experience here. Get well soon ❤️‍🩹

  • Xine Segalas6 months ago

    Glad to see you writing - Covid be damned! I hope you feel better soon.

DaphsamWritten by Daphsam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.