Poets logo

A Plea for Change

Dear Elected Representatives

By Brie MunnPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
1
A Plea for Change
Photo by GR Stocks on Unsplash

Dear Elected Representatives,

As a mere pawn in this political game,

I write this letter with a sense of shame,

For the state of our nation is in disarray,

And our future seems bleak, day by day.

I see the endless debates and political fights,

As you argue who is wrong and who is right,

But what about the people you represent,

The ones whose lives are truly affected?

I speak for the voiceless, the forgotten, the poor,

Whose dreams and hopes have been shattered before,

We need change, we need hope, we need unity,

And we need it urgently, not in perpetuity.

I know it's not an easy task to govern,

To balance the scales and try to discern,

But I ask you to stay true to your heart,

And do what's right, not just what's smart.

I hope this letter serves as a reminder,

Of the voices and faces behind the numbers,

We are the ones you were elected to serve,

And we trust you to do it with grace and verve.

I hope this letter finds you well,

As I sit down to write and tell

Of my concerns and fears for our nation,

And my hope for a better situation.

We need leaders who can unite us,

And not just divide us with their fuss,

We need policies that can heal our wounds,

And not just create more strife and ruins.

I see the divisiveness and hate in our society,

And I long for a change in our policies,

I believe in equality and justice for all,

And not just for the rich, powerful and tall.

I urge you to remember the promises you made,

To serve the people, not just the few who paid,

To bring justice, equality, and progress for all,

And to answer to your constituents' call.

I may be just a concerned citizen in this game,

But I believe in the power of hope and change,

And I hope this letter serves as a call to action,

For a brighter future, for our nation.

Sincerely,

A concerned pawn in your game.

sad poetrysurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Brie Munn

Writing stories for a hobby, and loving the creative side.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.