Poets logo

A Play of Power

Dethroning the King

By Amber BristowPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
5

Soft - his skin, beneath my knife

Soft - his breath, failing to fight

Soft - his heart, as it beats so slow

Soft - his grip, as he's forced to let go

Soft - the cries of those who mourn

Soft - the murmurs, as they watch new power be born

Soft - the smiles, as they begin to trust

Soft - my words, as I lead them unjust

For this piece I chose to use the word 'soft' to emphasise the well-planned (or as some may say, 'smooth' 👀) dethroning of a King and to highlight the vulnerability of the victim and the sombre tone of the situation. The word is also used to underline the contrast between the new Queens intentions and how the people perceive her. Let me know what you think!

If you are curious to see what kind of content I publish, check out some of my latest stories below:

[FICTION] The Mirage of Salvation

[FICTION] Proud: A Microfiction Story

[WRITERS] Life as a Promptomaniac

[WRITERS] Why I Write for Vocal Media

performance poetry
5

About the Creator

Amber Bristow

Regularly participating in writing challenges and #writerslift on Twitter

🤍 Twitter 🤍 Website

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I think the use of the word "soft" to exemplify what the queen is not was excellent.

  • J B6 months ago

    Sounds much like whats happening in the spiritual world... Go Queen!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Clever, and I love this take on the challenge

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.