Fiction logo

Life as a Promptomaniac

Promptomaniac: A person who is continuously seeking out and participating in writing challenges on Vocal, often at the expense of other obligations.

By Amber BristowPublished 8 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
6

Picture this: there I am, sipping my morning coffee, groggy-eyed and messy-haired, but what do I do first? Do I brush the unruly hairs on my head or jump in the shower to feel revitalised? Nay nay... I dive straight into Vocal's challenge section. It's now become a staple part of my morning ritual. I can practically hear my brain whispering, "Come on, just one more challenge..." I’m convinced my serotonin is shaped like a keyboard.

But oh, the thrill of a new challenge! It's better than finding a forgotten £5 note in the bottom of your bag. I eagerly click, my heart racing, imagining the story or poem I could craft. It's not just a challenge; it's a literary adventure, a caffeine-free buzz. When there’s nothing new, I’m like a kid whose candy store closed down. I actually mourn the lack of challenges in my life! It’s tragic, really.

It's reached the point where my friends no longer ask what I'm doing with my free time, but rather what challenge I'm writing for today. It's as if my life as a promptomaniac is taking over my identity.

Perhaps, one day, I'll find a balance between my literary addiction and other pursuits. But until then, I’ll keep refreshing that challenge page, hoping for my next fix. After all, who needs sleep when there are challenges waiting to be conquered? Pass the virtual pen; I’ve got a challenge to enter!

Short StoryMicrofictionHumor
6

About the Creator

Amber Bristow

Regularly participating in writing challenges and #writerslift on Twitter

🤍 Twitter 🤍 Website

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    This is me!

  • Joe Patterson8 months ago

    Love this, I think we all can relate.

  • Andrew C McDonald8 months ago

    Nice job Amber. Tailor made for this. Lol. Good luck.

  • C.S LEWIS8 months ago

    wow this is great job you can also join my friends and read what i have prepare for you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.