Poets logo

A Pilgrim's Home

To all who wander far away

By GABRIELA LUPUPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
5

I carry you with me

Everywhere I go

Like a shell,

Hiding her pearl in its nest carefully,

No matter how high and scary are the waves

No matter the darkness of the depths

No matter the cold

No matter the storms

No matter how lonely or careless is

The crowd of the ocean.

I build you up

Everywhere I go,

Like a spider

No matter how many times

It gets broken

By the cruel hands and words

Of the multitude.

I carry on

Building you again and again

So fragile, but so beautiful.

You’re Perfect!

I close my eyes and you’re always there.

I open the door late in the evening

When I come back from work

Hungry and emptied of all my dreams.

But inside, Somebody is waiting for me

With a warm supper

And we’re going to talk and laugh

Till late in the night,

Forgetting all about tomorrow.

I can hear my father’s fairy tales

And my mum’s lullaby,

And the screams of the two happy girls:

My sister and I, while running

Around the dining table.

I play hide and seek

With our wild Siamese cat .

She wants so badly

To scratch my arm,

Then to come and sleep next to my leg

For the rest of the night.

I can feel the big hugs

Of my cousins

Who haven’t seen me for so long.

They keep telling me

Everything that happened in my absence,

Which doesn’t matter at all.

All that counts

Is the music of their voices.

I listen to the concert of the crickets

In the night

While looking at the starry sky

And I can finally breathe,

Slowly and peacefully.

Everything is there,

Nothing it’s missing:

It’s Complete.

And between tears of joy,

I start smiling

And my hope is high

Like a mountain.

Because I know that,

No matter how far

We are from each other,

No matter how long it takes

For the beats of our hearts

To meet in between,

And for our memories

To cross the bridge of time,

We’re again together

And we’ll always be,

Forever.

Welcome HOME!

Photo by Claudio Pelizzeni on: https://ecobnb.com/blog/2017/12/traveling-the-world-backpack/

art
5

About the Creator

GABRIELA LUPU

I was born in Romania, then moved to the UK after completing my studies. I have loved reading and writing since I was a kid.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.